New Chair and Vice Chair of the Management Committee Elected

LAS VEGAS, April 11, 2013 – FoBTV Management Committee (MC) Meeting was held during the NAB Show. The meeting began from 12:00 to 13:00 PM local time. Phil Laven (DVB) was elected as the Chair and Bob Plummer (NABA/WBU) as the Vice Chair of the MC.


Description: Phil Laven.jpg

Phil Laven
Chairman, DVB, Switzerland

Philip Laven is Chairman of the DVB Project, acting on behalf of the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) where he was Director of the Technical Department from May 1997 until August 2007. Before joining the EBU, he worked for the BBC where most of his work was associated with R&D, including being Chief Engineer R&D with responsibility for all of the BBC's R&D activities. As Controller of Engineering Policy from 1993 to 1997, he played a leading role in the development of the BBC's policy on many technical developments, such as the introduction of digital audio broadcasting and digital television. Between 1994 and 2009, he was Chairman of the ETSI/EBU/CENELEC Joint Technical Committee (which is responsible for setting European standards for broadcasting systems).  In April 2012, he was appointed Vice-Chairman of the FOBTV initiative.



Bob Plummer

Bob Plummer
Vice-chairman, WBU-TC, Canada

Fox Entertainment Group, Inc.