About Us


The Future of Broadcast Television Initiative (FOBTV) is an unincorporated, not-for-profit association aimed at developing technologies for next-generation terrestrial broadcasting systems and making recommendations to standardization organizations around the world. It was originally founded by 13 leading television broadcast organizations in 2011. Its members represent broadcasters, manufacturers, network operators, standardization organizations, research institutes and others in more than 20 countries all over the world.

Goals of FOBTV

  • Develop future ecosystem models for terrestrial broadcasting taking into account business, regulatory and technical environments
  • Develop requirements for next generation terrestrial broadcast systems
  • Foster collaboration of dtv development, laboratories
  • Recommend major technologies to be used as the basis for new standards
  • Request standardization of selected technologies by appropriate standards development organizations

Founding Members

  • Advanced Television Systems Committee (ATSC)
  • Canadian Broadcast Corporation (CBC)
  • Communications Research Centre Canada (CRC)
  • Digital Video Broadcasting Project (DVB)
  • European Broadcast Union (EBU)
  • Electronics and Telecommunications Research Institute (ETRI)
  • Globo Tv-brazil (TV GLOBO)
  • Ieee Broadcast Technology Society (IEEE-BTS)
  • National Association of Broadcasters (NAB)
  • National Engineering Research Center of Digital Tv of China (NERC-DTV)
  • Nhk science and Technology Research Laboratories (NHK)
  • Public Broadcasting Service (PBS)
  • The Brazilian Society of Television Engineers (SET)