Welcome to FOBTV2011 November 10-11

Future of Broadcast Television (FOBTV) will be held to foster global collaboration that may lead to the development of common strategies for the future of terrestrial broadcasting and to exchange technical advances in the rapidly converging areas of terrestrial broadcasting, consumer electronics and networking technologies. Industry technology leaders are to be invited to work together to share their visions of the future of broadcasting. Bringing together the collective perspectives of experts worldwide should benefit industry leaders as they identify their optimum national path for terrestrial broadcasting.

Host Organization:

National Engineering Research Center of Digital Television, China (www.nercdtv.org)

Organizing Committee:

  • Mark Richer (ATSC) & Keiichi Kubota (NHK) Co-chairs
  • Lynn Claudy (NAB)
  • Bill Meintel (IEEE BTS)
  • Liliana Nakonechyj (TV Globo)
  • Peter Siebert (DVB)
  • Lieven Vermaele (EBU)
  • Wenjun Zhang (NERC-DTV)

Program Committee:

  • Yiyan Wu (CRC) & Phil Laven (DVB) Co-chairs
  • Bill Hayes (IEEE BTS)
  • Namho Hur (ETRI)
  • Jim Kutzner (PBS)
  • Uhrich Reimers (DVB)
  • Jerry Whitaker (ATSC)
  • David Wood (EBU)

Main Sessions:

  • The Role of Broadcasting in the Broadband Ecosystem
  • Attributes of a Next Generation Terrestrial Broadcast System
  • The Spectrum Squeeze
  • Technologies on the Horizon
  • Roundtable/Panel Discussions on the Future of Broadcasting

Among the topics to be explored will be terrestrial broadcasting, mobile television, datacasting, IPTV, internet television and electronic devices and networking technologies, from a system and service-deployment perspective, as well as the enabling transmission and multimedia signal processing technologies.


Shanghai International Convention Center
Add: 2727, Riverside Avenue, Pudong, Shanghai, China

Founding Organizations:

The founding organizations of the Future of Broadcast Television Summit (FOBTV) include:

  • Advanced Television Systems Committee (ATSC)
  • Canadian Broadcasting Corporation(CBC)
  • Communications Research Centre (CRC)
  • Digital Video Broadcast Project (DVB)
  • European Broadcast Union (EBU)
  • Electronics and Telecommunications Research Institute (ETRI)
  • Institute of Electronic and Electrical Engineers (IEEE)
  • National Association of Broadcasters (NAB)
  • National Engineering Research Center of Digital Television (NERC-DTV)
  • Japan Broadcasting Corporation (NHK)
  • Public Broadcasting Service (PBS)
  • SET-Brazilian Society of Television Engineering(SET ,Brazil)
  • Rede Globo